Martha Tilston: Artificial

As the wonderful Martha says: “This is for anyone who has ever worked in an office”. Melancholy and defiant, and so beautifully sung. Martha is one of this country’s finest folk singers, a deep spiritual sensibility, but also a political edge that runs through her songs. She reaches back into the heart of this land, and calls up the spirit of rebellion and the love of community. See her at places like the Smallworld festival or Buddhafield. In many dark days of working at the Guardian, when I felt beat down and questioned whether it was me that was wrong, wondered why I couldn’t fit in to the relentless march of conformity, I’d put this on and imagine me running across the office tables. Made me smile always. No, they’ll never have me, and Martha’s song voiced that defiant spirit in my heart. Beautiful, just beautiful!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

